Over The Weekend, I Was Accused of Being a Racist. At Least I Think I Was.

I say “I think” because I’m still not sure what the hell the guy was inferring about me and my pal Corey.  (If you’ve ever seen Curb Your Enthusiasm, that photo pretty much paints the same type of crazy situation that we had.)

It happened rather quickly and it wasn’t that big of a deal.  But it was just one of those moments where you wonder how dumb and unreasonable some people can be.  I post this mainly for the comedic value.

So Corey and I were sitting outside his house just catching up on Friday evening.  Just to set the scene, it was about 6 pm, clear sunny day, and we’re sitting smack dab in the middle of suburbia.  Kids playing in the streets and all that.  There isn’t a whole lot of traffic on these streets.  I mean there is, but it ain’t like it’s Main Street by any means.  Remembering that is key to how this all went down.

Corey looks up and sees about 3-4 cars, all in a row, coming down the street one right after the other.  A conversation similar to this ensued:

Corey: Look at all these cars.  It’s like a parade or something.

Me: Yeah, it’s like grand central.  I wonder where everyone is going.  Crazy.

Two important facts: 1) As Corey was talking, he raised his arm and pointed to the traffic of which he was speaking.  Nothing out of the ordinary.  He was just pointing.  2) The first car in the line of cars was an old beat up pickup, with three people sitting in it, and the windows were rolled down.  There was a dad, a mom, and their son in the truck.

After the cars passed, we went back to talking about sports, or girls or something like that.  Then, about two minutes later, we turn and see this same truck rolling on by again.  As they rolled by, they stopped in the middle of the street.  We were still talking to each other about chicks, with our backs turned to the people in the truck.  Here is what I can remember of what was said.

Driver: My son wants to know what you said about him.

Corey: Uhhhhhhhhhhhhh, huh?  What are you talking about?

Driver: Back there, when we drove by.  My son wants to know what you said about him.

Son (yelling from passenger seat): Yeah, what’d you say to me?

Me: Umm, we didn’t say anything about your kid, at all.

Corey: Yeah, we didn’t say anything about your son.  Why would we do that?

Driver: My son says you called him black.  Why’d you do that? (Important note: they were not black.)

Son (still yelling, and also getting real jumpy): Yeah, you called me black! Wanna go around the corner?

Driver: Yeah, do you wanna go around the corner?

Corey: Huh?  What?

Me: What?  Dude, we promise we didn’t say anything about your son.  

Driver: Okay, fine.

Son (yelling, as they drive away): (blah blah blah racist things blah blah blah) You wanna go around the corner, CRACKER?!?

Alllllllllllllrighty.  That was weird.  Pardon me while I go on a bit of a rant here.

Now I don’t know these people, nor do I hate them or anything like that.  But people cannot get any stupider than this.  I don’t need to defend the fact that I’m not a racist, that is not in doubt.  I am no racist.  In fact, I don’t even know exactly what race they even were!  They are just stupid people.  

For one, how does that kid, who couldn’t have been more than 15 or 16 have any chance of amounting to anything in his life??  With parents like his, he really doesn’t have a chance.  By turning their truck around and driving back to try to instigate a physical altercation, those parents were setting a GREAT example, let me tell you.

If we would have yelled a racial slur that couldn’t be mistaken for anything else, yes, I would understand turning a car around and asking us why we felt the need to yell something like that outloud.  That type of scenario is understandable.  But that is not even close to what happened here.

And lastly, I just want to say, that if Corey or I would have wanted to say something about those people and the color of their skin (which we neither one ever would do), doesn’t it make sense that we would have yelled it so that there wasn’t any doubt as to if they heard us or not??  If we were going to be the racists that that dude and his kid expected us to be, why would we whisper racial slurs to each other, rather than shout it out?  It just does not make any sense, people.

Anyway, it just boggles my mind how dumb people can be.  And I think it was pretty funny that Corey was called a cracker too!

One Response

  1. Obama is obviously using the race card because he has a lot to gain and nothing to lose.

    Think about it, black people want racism to exist because they can use it as an excuse for everything, and because blacks are the biggest beneficiaries if racism exists.

    How exactly would white people benefit from racism?

    … just imagine if there was a White History Month. I believe that Black History Month just causes more segregation and racism. it should be changed into American History Month.

    Blacks tend to be more racist because they can get away with it easier. They like to preach their 200 year old slave propaganda to take advantage of people.

    And remember it was Obama’s church and racist pastor for over 20 years who claimed “God DAMN America!!!”.

    Are you automatically racist if you disagree with a black person??

    Who is Barack Hussein Obama really??
    http://myspacetv.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=36421993

Leave a Reply

